Jayne heads All-Region softball team.

By: Brian Fees | Towanda Daily Review | June 15, 2018


It was a dominant year for Wyalusing freshman Hailey Jayne as she helped guide the Wyalusing rams to NTL and District 4 titles.

Now, Jayne is The Daily & Sunday Review All-Region Player of the Year.

After guiding the Waverly Wolverines to an IAC title, Wendi Hammond was the pitcher of the year.

Athens' Emma Adams hit over .500 on the year and is the Silver Slugger Award winner.

Wyalusing's Kristie Epler made some dazzling catches in the outfield this year and is the Defensive Player of the Year.

Kerrah Clymer had a dominant freshman year to be named, "newcomer of the year" and Mykenzie Malacusky of Sullivan County was a force on offense and defense to be named, "most versatile".

Sullivan County coach, Brian Heisman, is the, "coach of the year" after leading the Griffins to a Mid-Penn title and a spot in the state playoffs this year.

The first team is Jayne, Hammond, Adams, Epler, Malcusky; Waverly's Zoe Mennig and Tioga's Madalyn Dydynski and Mariah Culver.

Notre Dame's Izzy Milazzo and Courteney Crater are on the first team with Sullivan County's Quincy Fry; Troy's Riley McClellan; Towanda's Gabby Slater; Wyalusing's Melody Kneller and Sarah Bird; CV's Madi Lee and Karmen Short and North Penn-Liberty's Brooke Harvey and Savanah Doney.

The second team is Clymer and her sister Kailee Clymer and Cathryn Brought of Wellsboro. Tioga's Sara Strong and Marissa Howe are on second team with Notre Dame's Jordyn Fargo and Hannah Mahon. Sullivan County's Kassandra Houseknecht is on second team with Waverly's Riley Hall and Jordan Shumway of NEB along with McKenzie Haight of NEB.

Wyalusing's Autumn Dietz; Towanda's Madi Doss and Cearra McLinko and CV's Ashleigh Southard, Julia Draper and Riley Ortt and North Penn-Liberty's Abby Heatley.

Williamson's Sarah Learn is on the second team with Troy's Vanessa Watson; Sayre's Alia Post; Athens' Emma Repsher and Harley Sullivan and Canton's Hannah Gilliland.

The third team is Wyalusing's Madalyn Valoroso and Sullivan County's Jessica King and Alexis Randall. Tioga's Giovanna Rossi and Kurstan Martin are on the third team with CV's Amaya Walker and Brynn Williams. NEB's Jaycee Brown and Jorja Welch are on the third team with Towanda's Justine Vargason; Athens' Megan Bennett; Sayre's Blair Wampole; Wyalusing's Callie Bennett; Notre Dame's Peyton Maloney, Taylor VanDine and Chloe Stemerman. Waverly's Paige Miller; Canton's Miah Lehman; Troy's Gabby Cory; NEB's Taya Howell; Williamson's Ella Durst and Sayre's Camryn Brown are on the third team.

The gold glove winners are Mennig at catcher; Kneller at first base; Doss at second base; Harvey at shortstop; Haley Barry of Athens at third base; Milazzo at pitcher; Adams, Heatley and Epler in the outfield and McClellan was the utility gold glove winner.

The rookie team includes Kerrah Clymer; Sayre's Erika Wells; Sullivan County's Jaeden Patson; Chelsie English and Jena Boyce of Wellsboro; CV's Makayla Vargeson; Wyalusing's Jayne, Bennett and Catherine Brown; Athens' Repsher, Harley Sullivan and Hayleigh Macik; Tioga's Kylie Zimmerman; Notre Dame's Ellie Mustico; Waverly's Hali Jenner; Troy's Nicole McClellan and Jillian Shay of Canton.


About the Author

Brian Fees Author Bio
Brian Fees

Brian Fees is the sports editor of the Daily & Sunday Review in Towanda, PA.