North Penn-Liberty's Doney All-Region softball Player of the Year.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | June 19, 2017


North Penn-Liberty knew this year they could do something special. And behind pitcher Savanah Doney, they did.

Doney led the Mountaineers further than they have ever been, second in the district and a state berth.

She hit .545 with 28-RBI, while in the circle she was 17-6 with a 1.49 ERA and 124 strikeouts.

That's why Doney is this year's The Daily and Sunday Review All-Region softball Player of the Year.

A familiar face is the Pitcher of the Year in Wellsboro's Alyssa Yungwirth. Yungwirth was 16-2 this year as she led the Hornets to an NTL title. She had a 2.03 ERA with 178 strikeouts.

Notre Dame's Courteney Crater his over .500 to lead the Crusaders to their third straight Section IV title. She is this year's Silver Slugger.

NEB's Morgan Post came on late to help the Panthers clinch an NTL title and a District IV title to earn the Newcomer of the Year.

Her coach Gary Hennip is the Coach of the Year for his team's success.

Waverly catcher Zoe Mennig is the Defensive Player of the Year for her play behind the plate.

Athens' Emma Adams is the Most Versatile thanks to her play all over the field. She hit .480 while also recording seven steals.

The first team consists of Doney, Yungwirth, Adams, Williamson's Kendra Colegrove, Wyalusing's Kyleigh Ward, NEB's Gabby Slater and Annie Williams, Canton's Brooke Ward, Athens' Aubrey Allen, Wellsboro's Sydney Tremper, NP-Liberty's Jillian Berguson, Notre Dame's Mackenzie Maloney, Izzy Milazzo and Crater, Waverly's Wendi Hammond and Shailei Kraft, Tioga's Mariah Culver and Sullivan County's Bethany Weinhardt.

The second team is made up of NEB's Katie Boardman and McKenna Wheaton, NP-Liberty's Brooke Harvey and Carmen Bates, Williamson's Makayla Butz, Wyalusing's Melody Kneller, Towanda's Madi Doss, CV's Madi Lee, Notre Dame's Ally Wichtowski and Mackenzie Mahajan, Mennig, Tioga's Madalyn Dydynski and Marissa Howe, Sayre's Domi Woodruff, Canton's Evelyn Katona and Sullivan County's Quincy Fry and Kassandra Houseknecht.

The third team consists of Canton's Hannah Gilliland, Towanda's Justine Vargason, Sayre's Kate Cron and Kaitlynn McCarter, Wyalusing's Autumn Dietz, Notre Dame's Maura Glovins, Waverly's Riley Hall, Wellsboro's Kailee Clymer, Tioga's Sarah Hollenbeck and Megan Godfrey, NP-Mansfield's Lauren Smith, NEB's Megan Brown, Towanda's Larisa Terry, Wyalusing's Kristie Epler, CV's Karmen Short, Wellsboro's Brianne Keane and Troy's Gabby Cory.

The All-Rookie team is made up of Post, Wellsboro's Cathryn Brought, Athens' Megan Bennett, Mimi Martin and Haley Barry, Notre Dame's Taylor VanDine, Towanda's Gabby Larcom and Hannah Chandler, Wellsboro's Ryann Adams and Rileigh Gerges, Sullivan County's Jess King and Madison Burke, NEB's Lindsay Moore, Troy's Riley McClellan, Waverly's Riley Hall, Tioga's Kelsey Vosburgh and Williamson's Emylee Yusko.

The gold glove winners are Mennig (C), Boardman (1B), Kraft (SS), Doss (2B), Maloney (3B), NEB's Taya Howell (OF), Troy's Nicole Spalding (OF), North Penn-Liberty's Abby Heatley (OF) and Adams (P).