Clark heads All-Region softball team.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | June 22, 2016 | Photo courtesy The Review


Clark heads All-Region softball teamIt was a magical year for the Notre Dame softball team as they brought home the state title.

And, now they are reaping the rewards as senior Alivia Clark is this year's All-Region player of the Year.

Clark was the dominant force for the Crusaders all season, hitting .539 with 10 doubles, six home runs, 38 runs and 38 RBI. On the mound she was 11-4 with a 2.65 ERA, two no-hitters and 107 strikeouts.

Canton's Brooke Ward had a strong year at the plate for the Warriors, earning Offensive Player of the Year honors. Ward hit .562 for the Warriors, scoring 31 runs and stealing 10 bases.

Wellsboro's Alyssa Yungwirth was dominant on the mound for the Green Hornets, posting a .60 ERA with 141 strikeouts. Wellsboro coach Greg Carr helped the Green Hornets win the NTL title and get to the District 4, Class AA title game in his final year of coach and he wraps up his coaching career as coach of the year.

Katie Boardman made just one error at first base this year for Northeast Bradford to earn Defensive Player of the Year honors and Athens' Emma Adams hit .493 and was Athens top pitcher as she was named the Newcomer of the Year.

Clark, Yungwirth, Adams and Ward are all on the first team, along with Notre Dame's Mackenzie Maloney and Isabel Milazzo and Wellsboro's Sarah Ingerick, Jenny Young and Alexa Singer.

Waverly's Shailei Kraft, Tioga's Sam Wood, Williamson's Kendra Colegrove and Wyalusing's Erin Canfield are all on the first team, as well.

NEB's Annie Williams and Gabby Slater, CV's Kayla Schauer and Sayre's Kate Cron round out the first team.

The second team includes Sullivan County's Quincy Fry, Wellsboro's Sydney Tremper and Darci Warriner, NEB's Danielle Moore and Sayre's Paige Wampole.

Athens' Aubrey Allen, Liberty's Brooke Harvey and Savannah Doney and Wyalusing's Melody Kneller are all on the second team.

Williamson's Andrea Regalbuto, Notre Dame's Mackenzie Mahajan, Troy's Vanessa Watson, Towanda's Madi Doss, Waverly's Wendi Hammond and Tioga's Mariah Culver round out the second team.

The third team includes Canton's Evelyn Katona, Kelsey Griffin, Lauryn Watkins and Maggy Machmer and Waverly's Zoe Mennig.

Athens' Kaitlyn Testen, Wyalusing's Kyleigh Ward, Notre Dame's Courteney Crater, Liberty's Emily Strange and Boardman are on the third team.

CV's Madi Lee, Athens' Hannah Reid, Sullivan County's Torie Shultz, Notre Dame's Maura Glovins, Troy's Nicole Spalding, Towanda's Justine Vargason and Sayre's Kaitlynn McCarter rounded out the third team.

Adams leads the rookie team along with Doney, Harvey, Hammond and Kneller. Athens' Leah Reid and Hayleigh Macik are on the rookie team with Wellsboro's Brianne Keane and Kailee Clymer.

Towanda's Cearra McLinko, Troy's Caitlyn Hoffmann and Gaby Cory are on the rookie team, along with NEB's McKenzie Haight, Notre Dame's Jordyn Fargo and Sullivan County's Alexis Randall and Savannah Baldwin.

Clark was the gold glove winner as a pitcher, Boardman at first base, Ingerick at shortstop, Doss at second base, Allen at third base, Colegrove at catcher, Trinity Kipp of Wyalusing, Mahajan and Hannah Reid in the outfield.